Official website: Department of Biology, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences IPB

Site Search



Two Lecturers of IPB were inaugurated as new member of ALMI

  • 24 August 2016
  • Last modified at 1 September 2016

Two lecturers of IPB,Dr. Berry Juliandi (Department of Biology, FMIPA) and Dr. Husin Alatas (Department of Physics, FMIPA) were elected and inaugurated as new member of Indonesian Young Academy of Sciences (ALMI) on Friday (19/8) at Wisma Ainun dan Habibie, Jakarta. Last year, one lecturer of IPB Dr. Alan Koropitan (Department of Marine Science and Technology, FPIK) had been elected as inaugural member of ALMI since this academy was established on May 20th, 2015, by Keputusan Presiden No. 9 year 2016. Currently, three lecturers of IPB are member of ALMI.

ALMI is autonomous body under auspices of Indonesian Academy of Sciences (Akademi Ilmu Pengetahuan Indonesia; AIPI) with goals to enhance the role of young scientists in developing prominent science and scientific culture of Indonesia in order to increase nation competitiveness, to enhance progress in frontiers of science through cross-disciplinary collaboration among young scientists, to enhance the creation of scientific temper and development of scientific culture in young generation, to enhance the utilization of science in formulation of public policy and to become part of world young academy of science movement in resolving global challenges.

This year ALMI inaugurated 27 new members from across scientific disciplines (social and life sciences) in addition to 13 inaugural members which have been elected last year. The current 40 members of ALMI are representing diverse institutions in Indonesia, such as Universitas Indonesia (6 members), Institut Teknologi Bandung (5 members), LIPI (4 members), IPB (3 members), Universitas Gadjah Mada (3 members), Universitas Hasanudin (3 members), Universitas Padjajaran (2 members), and Universitas Tadulako, Universitas Brawijaya, Universitas Negeri Jakarta, Universitas Diponegoro, Universitas Muhammadiyah Yogyakarta, Unika Widya Mandala, Universitas Ma Chung, Eijkman Institute for Molecular Biology, BPPT, Dana Ilmu Pengetahuan Indonesia, CSIS, SurveyMeter, PT. Biofarma and President Staff Office of Republic Indonesia with each 1 member.

Export Article

Share this article